Home»Home Page»Archbishop Schnurr to ordain 23 deacons April 27

Archbishop Schnurr to ordain 23 deacons April 27

Pinterest WhatsApp
Deacon Ordination13
Archbishop Dennis M. Schnurr presides over a previous deacon ordination. (CT FILE PHOTO)

Staff Report

Cincinnati Archbishop Dennis M. Schnurr will ordain 20 permanent deacons and three transitional deacons for the Archdiocese of Cincinnati at 11 a.m., Saturday, April 27 at Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Parish, 2300 S. Smithville Road, Dayton.

In the Catholic Church today there are two forms of the diaconate:

1) A permanent deacon is a man, either married or single, who is ordained to the order of deacon, the first of three ranks in ordained ministry — the other two being priest and bishop.

2) A transitional deacon is a man who has been ordained a deacon but is continuing on the path to priesthood. A man must be a deacon before he can be a priest or bishop.

To be ordained transitional deacons are three seminarians studying at Mount St. Mary’s Seminary of the West in Mount Washington. Their ordination to the diaconate is the final step prior to being ordained to the Roman Catholic priesthood in 2014.

They and their home parishes are: Rev. Mr. Andrew P. Cordonnier, St. Remy, Russia; Rev. Mr. Brian W. Phelps, St. Ann, Groesbeck, and Rev. Mr. James J. Riehle, St. Gertrude, Madeira and St. Columban, Loveland.

To be ordained permanent deacons are 20 men who have completed formation for the diaconate.

The ordinands (with wives names in parentheses) and their parish assignments are: Deacon Marc A. Alexander (Barbara), Our Lady of the Visitation, Cincinnati; Deacon Dennis J. Berry (Norma), Good Shepherd, Cincinnati; Deacon Michael H. Brock (Ann), St. Columban, Loveland; Deacon Dale J. De Brosse (Deborah), Precious Blood, Dayton, St. Rita, Dayton, St. Paul, Englewood; Deacon Lawrence D. Gronas (Diane), Holy Name, Trenton; Deacon Robert W. Gutendorf (Susan), St. Peter, Huber Heights; Deacon Ralph M. Gutman (Mary), Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception, Dayton; Deacon Henry L. Jacquez (Elizabeth), Holy Trinity, Norwood; Deacon William K. LeCain (Nancy), St. Luke, Beavercreek; Deacon Michael J. Leo (Therese), Holy Trinity, Dayton; Deacon Vincent T. Lutz (Patricia), St. John the Baptist, Dry Ridge; Deacon John T. Lyons (Linda), Holy Family, Middletown; Deacon David M. McCray (Eileen), St. Peter, Huber Heights; Deacon Christopher A. Rauch (Joan), St. Francis of Assisi, Centerville; Deacon Kenneth R. Schnur (Carole), St. John the Baptist, Dry Ridge; Deacon William J. Staun (Mary), Holy Trinity, Norwood; Deacon David P. Steinwert (Sherry), St. Teresa of Avila, Cincinnati; Deacon Kenneth R. Stewart (Cecilia), St. Augustine, Germantown; Deacon Louis F. Wong (Mary Kay), St. Susanna, Mason; Deacon David E. Zink (Rhonda), St. Albert the Great, Kettering.


Previous post

Cardinal George of Chicago to speak at Athenaeum April 24

Next post

Tree-planting event honors memory of Sister Dorothy Stang